Bug Bites, and Emotion.

I’m kind of homesick for a country, to which I’ve never been before.

When Squire Parsons penned this song in 1973 he was referring to a longing for Heaven, but tonight it fits my mood.  I am sitting out on the porch, ants, mosquitos, and I am sure a few other creatures are taking the time to introduce themselves to my feet, legs, and arms.  The air is warm, with no breeze, and the heavy air tells of pending rain.  My children are settled in for the night (one in bed, one snuggling with daddy) so the only noises are those of bikes, cars, and people, bustling around our ever busy street. My heart is heavy for women I do not yet know, in a country I have never been, and yet tonight I feel a longing for them, I long for the heat, the sweat pouring off my brow as I sit at the foot of a laboring mama, a woman which God is calling me to serve.

Leave a Reply

