Go Into All The World… My journey into Midwifery

For years the desire of my heart has been to be a midwife, to serve women in a time when they need someone the most.  God began to speak to me about overseas service and I felt compelled to say YES… whenever You are ready.  I have always thrived in a situation of urgency.  When there would be a “crisis alert” or “Code” at work I would feel the adrenaline start to flow and I would get in that ZONE.  My first ever blood draw was during a code, I was shoved to the bedside and had orders to draw 4 vials of blood and blood cultures (a weird sterile procedure, that has to be done JUST SO) yelled at me with a room full of Drs, nurses, RTs etc.  I did it, first attempt and I remember thinking that God had blessed me with a gift, of a) finding the unfindable vein, and b) keeping cool under pressure. 

Skip ahead 6 years.  Married, 2 kids, hectic life.  God begins to stir in me the desire he placed within me years before.  The midwifery bug bit, and now I lay awake at night thinking about how it is I am going to fill this call.

midwife/bible

The Global Organization of Midwives along with the a mainstream missions organization are equipping healthcare workers with vital skills, education, and support, so they may go where there is great need. As a family, we are teaming up with them, and next September I am starting formal midwifery and Missionary education,  with an academic focus on the global maternal health crisis with the intention of going overseas, to be the hands and feet of Christ, providing dignified, lifesaving, maternal healthcare to the women who need it most. 

I will be doing one of my Midwifery Clinical Placements at a charity birth center overseas to refine my midwifery skills but also to learn emergency management in remote areas / the out of hospital setting which requires a very specific skills set not often seen in the US.

We had photos taken today, compliments of Heartfelt Photography that will be used for Prayer Cards.  These will be sent out to those who wish to pray for us, get updates on what we are doing, or if so lead, give to our mission.  I said to Ronnie today “This is starting to feel real” to which he replied “This IS real!” 

This year we will be raising funds, for the required missions training, the cost of the overseas missions trip/midwifery placement, and the cost of supplies; for a total of $10,000. We will also have to pay the cost associated with my Midwifery degree, licensing and exam fee, as well as our day to day living expenses.  We have started an amazon WISH LIST  with some of the books, equipment and supplies I am required to have, and will have a list of items that I will need to take with me to my placement (medications, linens, medical supplies, hand sanitizer, etc) that I will post if people want to be able to help when the time comes.  

Please continue to follow this blog, and pray for us as we begin this crazy life changing journey.  Additionally, if you attend a church who would be willing to hear our storey and pray for us please let us know!  

Love you all!

One thought on “Go Into All The World… My journey into Midwifery

  1. Good luck and God bless you all in your endeavor. Its a great thing you are doing.. Prayers will be going out to you all.. Be safe and trust in HIM for everything…

Leave a Reply

